Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Bug ID?

This morning the sun was shining and I had a morning off - hurrah!
First I went to the Phoenix Hide at Moore to see if my friend the Kingfisher was around - but sadly there was hardly anything to see at all......apart from a couple of swans and a very distant great crested grebe :(

Woolston Eyes was my next stop, where I went around the "long" way to the main hide, stopping at every flower to see if anything interesting was there. Not too much, but I did get a nice shot of a comma butterfly. But I only posted one a few days ago, so went in search of something else.
There were two twitchers in the hide who told me that they had been there an hour and seen hardly anything - it was the quietest they had ever seen it. Eventually we spotted a solitary black tailed godwit in the distance that soon flew off and a couple of snipe (we think!), but they were so far away, they were impossible to catch with my camera.
On the way back to my car, I photographed a few flies/bugs/bees etc and I quite like this one, but have no idea what it is. Any ideas anyone?

After a few hours work on my laptop, I am now firmly stuck on my sofa subjecting myself to some very loud whoop whooping and chants of "USA, USA" and "in da hole" from some very noisy American golf supporters. Team Europe are not doing so well so far - whitewashed in the morning session 4-0........but you never know.....remember Medinah...!

A wet weather forecast may well see me with an indoor blip tomorrow, but we hope to get out on Sunday where is looks a lot better.

Have a great weekend everyone and thanks for dropping by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.