The Owl Tearooms, Holt

Be warned, blip readers, i feel a long blip coming on! The day started earlier than I would have liked, as Jon's radio alarm started playing music to us as 7.15. Disorientated I thought it was my alarm, which is set for 8 on a Saturday, so after 10 minutes of opening my eyes time, I got up! Jon was out with the dogs, by then, and the sun was shining.

At 8.30 we sold the land rover. A man had driven up from Kent. He bought it unseen. I think he got a good buy. Jon said it was the best land rover he had ever owned. Sadly, not a vehicle we can afford to run these days. I counted the cash, and Jon sorted the paperwork. Its a relief that it has gone. We need another vehicle rethink.

Talking of vehicles, as Jon set off to Norwich for a training course to get a certificate to teach air rifle shooting, I drove to Holt to get my tyre sorted out. I thought it would just get done, there and then, like on the adverts. Wrong! In their defence, they could do it that morning, so I walked in to Holt town. After browsing all the charity shops, I ended up in this lovely cafe, where I enjoyed a proper pot of tea (with extra hot water) and a scone (we have been to other cafés in Holt, but I recommend The Owl and the bottom end of the high street) I hadn't thought to have breakfast before I went out. Luckily for me, mum and dad were able to take Mollie to work. After 40 mins I had a call from the garage, where it was established that I needed a new tyre, and as the front two were barely legal, two more. I decided to go for 4 new ones, and the better quality ones at that. Decision made all by myself. Well, it was easy as I was spending Jon's land rover money. I did pay for the alignment myself, after knocking him down from £50 to £35.

In the last charity shop, I bought myself a bargain leather jacket for £5. I decided that as id spent so much already, another (new) fiver wouldn't make any difference.

Home at 12, and H had gone out to Sheringham with his grandparents. Unfortunately the hairdressers was closed between 12 & 2 for lunch!!! Up in these small towns, they really don't quite 'get' how business works. So, no haircut & I will take him next week.

My Saturday jobs started midday, and once washing and bathroom were done I was at last able to get out in the garden. I started some weeding, with help from my chicks, but soon after, a rumble of thunder and very light rain made me rush to cut the grass. Within minutes of finishing the grass it started to really pour down. That is my favourite time to sit in the conservatory!

I put my Cliff Richard records on my record player, and enjoyed a bit of relaxed listening, plus a bit of reading.

Jon got in at about 5. He has another training day tomorrow then should have the certificate.

This evening, I sat and made a few Halloween earrings, while Henry built a fire in the grate. It has turned a bit chilly. He put his onesie on and got a hot water bottle. The heating is not going on yet!

Jon collected Mollie from a slow day on the pier, picking up a curry in Morrisons on his way back. A late dinner, but now we feel stuffed! Watched Strictly and will try to remember now, that it has started. I missed it last week. Even got sucked in to a bit of X Factor, but I prefer the dancing.

Tomorrow more gardening I hope. So some sun has been ordered. Sorry if you don't live near me (so, that's everyone then!) but I've bagsied the sun for north Norfolk all day. I know you won't mind......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.