Heading East!

We're flying to southwestern Idaho on Wednesday for a week's vacation, not wanting to drive 580 miles / 933 kilometers from Bellingham to Boise at this time of year, when snow is a distinct possibility.

Boise (pronounced BOY-see) is the state capital and most populous city in Idaho, with about 214,500 residents, and is at an elevation of 2,704 feet (824 meters) above sea level. (Normally I wouldn't mention elevation, but keep reading...)

Idaho's ethnic Basque community is one of the largest in the U.S. (around 7,000 in 2000), many of whom live in Boise. The Basque Museum & Cultural Center is a "must see," and we're looking forward to some Basque food. Boise also has several other museums, diverse performing arts, and an extensive urban trail system along the Boise River, which runs through the city.

After a couple of days in Boise, we'll head further east to Hailey, which has many fewer people (about 8,000) and a much higher elevation (5,318 feet /1,621 meters above sea level). At that elevation, altitude sickness can be an issue, so I'll be extra careful about staying well-hydrated and getting enough sleep...

...which could be a challenge, as in Hailey, we will be staying with my second cousin once removed, E, and her husband R. My March 10, 2015 blip tells how we found each other, and now we're going to meet in person! (My paternal grandmother, AEM (1870-1945), and E's maternal great-grandfather, GEM (1866-1918), were siblings. I've added their photos as an extra.)

Phil and I have long wanted to go to the area around Hailey for the annual Trailing of the Sheep Festival, a five-day event that includes sheepdog trials, multicultural performers, a Fiber Festival, culinary events, storytelling, and much more, including the Big Sheep Parade of 1,500 sheep trailing down Main Street in Ketchum, near Hailey. 

To be there with E and R will double our pleasure, and our time together will deepen my family roots. I'm deeply grateful for this trip, and know you'll understand why my presence here is likely to be less than usual.

Now to finalize my packing!

(My son W is also traveling -- he's in Iceland today, where he and his friend A will drive the ring road around that amazing country, then spend time in Dublin, Edinburgh, and Glasgow.)

Blip 1651  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.