Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A rare family meeting

Today we were visited by my cousin Margaret from Australia and her husband, Peter. It is over 50 years since I saw Margaret and I've never met Peter before. They are here on a visit to the UK and Europe. The rest of the party are my cousins Joan and Freda and Joan's husband, Bob, all from Sunderland.

These are cousins on my Dad's side of the family.

We had lunch together and lots of chatter about times past as well as present.

All too soon it was time for them to go. Margaret  and Peter have moved on north to Peebles tonight and then to see friends in Edinburgh.

I felt an immediate affinity with Margaret. She is full of fun and chat.

Tonight at the Photo Club we heard Harry Hall talking about The Chadar. I thought that Bhutan was on my bucket list, but I think it is very unlikely I will ever make such a challenging journey. The photographs were excellent and I thought we were given an excellent insight into the lives of people so far away and so different from our own. Lots of food for thought.

Mum took a heavy tumble yesterday evening and has a lot of bruises to show for it. She was very shaken, but made sure it did not spoil the family get together.

In the image from left to right: Margaret, Joan, Freda, Bob, Peter and Mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.