New View

I forgot to say that I came home the other day and was stopped in my tracks halfway through the kitchen by the sight of our new view. The people who own the house our garden backs onto had decided to chop down the trees between our garden and theirs. I have mixed feelings about this - the view of their other trees is lovely and it's opened up the space, but on the other hand I'm worried about what else they may have planned - it's the bottom of their 60' garden so the trees didn't really affect them at all, and also I quite liked the way it looked before.
So today was the last day we were tenants in our old house. Mr K went over first thing to do a few tip runs and load up the last few bits. It took him hours as the tip was heaving and he had to queue for ages each time he went. When he got back I left him with the Little Misses doing their homework and headed over for the final time.
I cleaned the windows inside and out, put all the hideous net curtains and lampshades back up again, used the magic eraser on all the marks on the walls, hoovered through, decanted the goldfish into a bucket, got all our pots out of the garden, and washed down all the skirting boards.
Then it was done.
After weeks of emptying and cleaning the house is finally empty and clean.
And after six years we now live somewhere else.
As I had a last walk round memories of the younger Little Misses came flooding back - Miss L's first steps, first words, tucking them up at night, blowing out the lights, first days at school, Miss L's first Christmas, all the Christmases, new beds, baking days, baths, swinging on the swing, apple picking, blowing dandelion clocks, all the songs and the shows, the madness of Friday night sleepovers. 
Their whole lives.
Naturally I cried my eyes out!
Then it was home to start the next chapter and make more happy memories.
And eat tinned curry and rice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.