Topaz Impression of My Bureau

Rain. Wind. Short power outages. A few lulls in the action. Quite a weather day. Tomorrow is supposed to be more of the same only stronger. Should be interesting.

I did manage to go out to shop during a quiet time. I stocked up on food but did not go out to buy a generator as many around here did to prepare for the storm. I wouldn't know what to do with one if I had one. 

Most of the day I sat in the dining room and made calendars. Even during the power outage I was able to see what I was doing. When we had power I listened to music, first on the radio and then a CD of the Bach Mass in B Minor. I love that piece and still marvel at what beauty Bach created. I've sung it twice, the first time when I was in my 20s. I was singing in the Berkeley Chamber Singers, rehearsing in St Mark's Episcopal Church in Berkeley. The choir director of the church, Don Aird, came up and asked us if any would like to join the choir to sing the mass. I jumped at the chance. It was a thrill and Don was one of the two best choir directors I've ever sung with. And a great friend, a character and a wonderful man. I met my first husband in that choir. So hearing that music takes me on a memory journey of epic proportions. And it makes my heart sing.

I finished the calendars! All 120 of them. Well actually I do still have to put labels on the back but that is nothing to putting 13 photos on each one. They have tape for the cover photo and each month. In the end you get a 5 by 7 inch calendar with 4 by 6 photos on each month and the cover. I buy the blanks from Photographer's Edge. I've been making them as gifts for years. It's a great way to share my best photos each year.

Steve came for dinner and we each won a game of Carcassonne. We all watched TV before he headed off (in his car instead of walking) and Arvin and I went to bed. It was a very nice day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.