Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Leap

And the next frame in this burst was empty!  I rescued this asian multi-spotted lady beetle (an invasive species in much of the world, but still rather captivating) from the bird bath where it had gotten stranded on a leaf partially submerged.  It was quite wet so spent some time opening it's shell and extending it's gossamer wings before it was finally ready to fly off.  I posted a shot that is technically better on Flickr, but I kept coming back to this one for my blip just because, while it's not perfect, I like it.

You can see the better lady beetle and four other shots starting HERE on Flickr (couple of purple finch shots, a peeing shield bug - who knew? - and a tiny spider eating a tiny hoverfly.)  In all, it was a fun day for photos since there were lots of insects around.  The next 4 days are going to be unseasonably warm so I expect you'll be seeing a lot more creepy crawly things from me.

Hubs and I had a nice long chat with my parents this morning, both of whom are still recovering from nasty colds.  Dinner last night with neighbor's was predictably fun.  Garden project is on hold until we can get the damned tree limb down as it is now dangling quite precariously.  Our neighbors have an arborist coming over this Weds to prune some of their trees so Hubs is going to see if the guy can lop off this limb while he's here.  

We don't usually watch Saturday Night Live, but my parents alerted us to an absolutely hilarious skit that was on last night poking fun at our two presidential candidates.  If you haven't seen it, it's worth a look as it is positively brilliant (in my opinion).  You can view it HERE on YouTube.  Of course, one of the candidates is infuriated by it, demonstrating what I perceive as a serious lack of humor.  Just sayin'.

Over and out...
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.