Home Sweet Tiny Home

Today is the beginning of a week's holiday in this lovely Shepherd's Hut. We are by a lake on a farm in north Dorset, not far from Shaftesbury which I've never been to but plan to visit this week. I decided after our very busy summer and autumn and especially after my bout with Shingles, that we needed a week away in a quiet, pretty spot with no plans other than resting, reading, walkies, movies, knitting, eating and sleeping. Dolly said that sounded good to her as well!  

I did some random searches and found this lovely place. I've always wanted to stay in a Shepherd's Hut.  And I've been very curious about the 'Tiny House Movement'. So this is my chance to pretend I live in a Tiny House. I'm not sure I could really ever do it long term!  

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiny_house_movement

To be honest - I'm not sure it's an authentic Shepherd's Hut as I'd always assumed that they were much smaller. This has a decent kitchen, 2 single beds and a good bathroom with a full shower. And a little sitting area with a small sofa in front of a cosy (electric) stove/fireplace. It's certainly a trailer of some sort that's been adapted. I will properly meet the manager in a few days and I can't wait to hear all about it.  I will update later in the week!

When we left home this afternoon it was a beautiful sunny warm day. But we soon hit clouds and then rain which became a downpour. When we got here 2 hours later we dashed inside and left everything in the car. Thankfully there was milk and chocolate biscuits in the fridge (and wine!) and tea bags in a tin. So we put the kettle on and explored our tiny home and watched some TV for an hour or two until the rain stopped and then we could get our things from the car. Thankfully the weather looks pretty good for most of the rest of the week except for today and tomorrow. We'll take whatever. We love it here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.