East Runton Beach

Mollie, Bracken and I caught the last hour of sunlight today, making the very most of what has been a lovely day. Possibly the last really nice day of the season? 

I have been in the office all day, so escaping at 4.15, I caught the 4.19 bus by some miracle and was home at 5.15. Mollie had messaged me earlier to say it was lovely down by the sea, but of course she hovers above the sea all day in her job on the pier. 

Henry wasn't well enough to come, and had tucked himself up in bed. So I grabbed Bracken and we drove the short distance to the sea, where we enjoyed a leisurely walk along the beach, taking photos, and writing in the sand. There was one family still on the beach with one boy in the sea with his two dogs. They weren't packing up to go home, just shuffling the blankets backwards, as the tide edged the water towards them.

We turned back for home as the darkness suddenly seemed to fall around us. Back at the car by 6.30 the light had all but gone. So home we drove, cooked dinner, washed up and now I am going to watch Victorian Slums. 

Talking of Victorian Slums, I walked past a big issue seller today. She was a new one, and she was going over her 'lines' and what I picked out of this was 'help me get somewhere to stay tonight'. It made me think of the Victorian Slums programme, and the fact that they had to work every day literally to fund that day. Just purely for survival. No let up, it was a relentless slog to earn enough to eat and for a bed each night. How sad that over 100 years later, for some it is still the same. I am very grateful for what I have. I may buy the big issue after pay day on Wednesday, because where is she going to sleep if ordinary people like me don't help her? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.