The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

I still miss the swans

...on the river Frome. Two male swans lived here for years on this stretch, but they became territorial and pecked at cars, and on the windows of the mobile homes where people live. Some residents complained that it was putting them off their knitting, and that they had moved to the countryside for a quiet life....

In March this year one of the swans was found to have swallowed an obstacle that ultimately killed him. Locals suspected foul play. The other swan was moved elsewhere for his own safety.

So now there are no swans. I've been working in this site once a week for the past nine years, and I still catch myself out looking for them. All they ever did to me was hiss and flap a bit. No worse than myself on a bad day.

I had thought I knew whodunnit, but, having got to know the suspect over a series of bus journeys, I began to question his motive. Surely a man who loves baking could not be a swan killer? Unless he wanted to make a very large pie?

Rubbish picture, but I tried with the Olympus camera first and it wasn't any better....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.