Running Girl

Today was the day of Miss E's sponsored walk at school.
I have to admit that I had pretty much forgotten about it until this morning and there was some hurried texting to drum up some sponsorship!
After dropping the Little Misses off I went round to Mrs K's for a bagel with peanut butter and a delicious latte. I like going to Mrs K's!!!
It was nice to chat and catch up.
Home for a bit of half hearted unpacking before heading to Miss E's school for our walk.
They'd marked out a lap round the school grounds and the whole school turned out to spend an hour walking round and seeing how many laps we could get done.
I was a bit disturbed at the start when all the kids set off at a sprint. Luckily Miss E said she didn't want to run and wanted to be with me!
It was fantastic walking around with her, holding hands and chatting. She's ace!!
She did run a few laps and I wandered along by myself. Slowly!
It was nice to chat to a few of her friends too and watch them run off together for a lap. Brilliant!!
She did sixteen laps and I did twelve. Pretty good I thought!
There was a shocking mum there shouting at her child from the sidelines. Telling her to run faster, not stop running, keep running...... It was a bloody sponsored walk!! The girl said she felt ill - and did look pretty green - and the mum said she couldn't sit down, had to finish twenty laps, had to win...... Win????? It was a sponsored walk!
Whenever I think I'm being a rubbish mum I will remember that woman and thank God my Little Misses will never hear that kind of crap from me.
Miss E was so pleased that I was there and keep telling me so. It was ace!!
My feet were killing me at the end of the hour. I hadn't really thought through my choice of footwear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.