The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Changing Behaviour

Since we got back from Lincolnshire I had noticed that the Nuthatches are a lot more active in the garden.

I have said many times on here that the Nuthatch is the only bird to be the ever present on my BTO Garden Birdwatch count, so it is not unusual to see them in the garden, but what has been noticeable is that both adult birds are back and forth the feeders constantly, and they are not staying to feed, they are leaving with food. I know they successfully fledged one youngster as I blipped him on the 4th August.

As far as I know they are normally one brood birds by and large, but two clutches have been reported, so I am wondering if this is a different pair, or they same pair with a second brood. There are a lot of late second broods around after the rubbish start to the summer, so it could be possible. I know they are not feeding the youngster, as, again, as far as I know, they are on their own fairly quickly after leaving the nest. Parent birds will indeed re-establish their territories and drive their own off spring out to make their own. It stops over competition for any food supplies. I have never seen more than two Nuthatches in my garden at one time.

I will keep an eye on things and report back to you if I notice any more changing behaviour.

As an aside, I tried to get a better shot of the bird on the tree using the camera on remote, I am planning to try again tomorrow, although storm-a-geddon is forecast!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.