FLOWER FRIDAY

I blipped this sunflower on 7th October from the back – and since then it has been on my kitchen windowsill so that I could enjoy it, which I have done.  However, I think the time has now come for it to be consigned to the compost bin and to carry on working, even though it is past its best.
 
Today is the 50th anniversary of the disaster at Aberfan, a former coal mining village, four miles from Merthyr Tydfil in South Wales.  In a few minutes, a coal tip above Aberfan slid down the mountain and engulfed several houses and the school, where the pupils were just beginning their first lessons of the day, just before their started their half term holiday.  In all, 116 children were killed and 28 adults also died.
 
The local community was devastated by this tragedy and the whole country was shocked as the news hit the headlines.  I have watched several programmes about this disaster and it moves me to tears every time. 
 
Today, we remember all those who died and also the courage and determination of the rescuers and those who survived.
 
“No popularity exists when tragedy strikes.
All that's left are human hearts
     and love and ache.
We all love each other,
     deep down,
          and when we see another soul in pain
               we can't help but hurt too.” 
Maya Van Wagenen


   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.