SILLY SATURDAY - BCAM21

I had intended doing my VERY Silly Saturday Blip today, but Mr. HCB persuaded me that I should wait until next week which is the last Saturday in the month, and go out with a bang!  So being the obedient wife that I am, I decided to listen to him (as he looked over my shoulder when I was typing this, he did comment, rather wryly, “Well, that will be a first!”

Our older grandson has always loved Percy Pig “soft gums made with fruit juice” that I bought him from Marks & Spencer, and when he was about 3 years old, I even made up a little story about him going in there and trying to buy some, but as he went to each lady on the till, they had all sold out.  He loved to hear the story but of course, it was only make-believe - they never ran out of Percy Pigs - in fact, they are probably eaten by more grown-ups than children, if what I read is correct!  They are rather yummy though and if you have never tried them, do buy yourself a packet and enjoy their lovely flavour and of course, if you are a vegetarian, you can now buy the veggie version.

I have still been buying them for him and he is now 22 years old, but interestingly, the last time we met him for a coffee, he was telling us all the reasons we shouldn’t be eating pork and this was after I had given him two packs of Percy Pigs.  He says he would never eat pork now and was even thinking of giving up eating Percy Pigs, as they contained pork gelatine - he has become very health conscious and obviously reads the ingredients on everything he eats.

I was delighted, therefore, when I went into Marks & Spencer this week and found that they sold packs of “gelatine free” Veggie Percys, so of course, I had to buy him a couple of packets.  I sent him a photograph and said I would bring them the next time we met for a coffee and his response was “Oh wow they look awesome!  Ha ha, nice one Grandma, I look forward to trying them.”

They are not as pink and don’t look that appetising to me, but the packet assures me that they are “super chewy fruit juice gums with the green ear guarantee”!  Before you know it, they will be saying the same about pork!!  Now that is silly.

Please continue to click on this link so that those who cannot afford to pay may have a free mammogram - thank you!

“People often say
     that motivation doesn’t last - 
          well neither does bathing -
               that’s why we 
                    recommend it daily!”
Zig Ziglar

P.S.  I didn't take the ordinary Percy Pigs out of the packet so haven't handled both - in case you were wondering!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.