a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Hot line for dereliction

"Pale blue eyes
Same old house no ties
A little bit older but not so
Worldly wise
That I can't see
Your light's on me
Making me regretfully say

The wonder of it all was you
And underneath it all it wasn't true

I want you in everything
In everything
In anything I do
When will you make my phone ring
And tell me I can't give you anything
Anything at all now

Tiny steps
From ruthless legs
When you've been walking so long
Now don't you rest
From disharmony
From disunity
From anything that isn't you and me

The wonder of it all was you
And underneath it all it wasn't true

I want you in everything
In everything
In anything I do
When will you make my phone ring
And tell me I can't give you anything
Anything at all now

Tired of chasing old dreams
Tired of wasting days
Tired of waking mornings
Just to wait for you till late
Tired of searching high
Tired of getting low
Tired of listening hard
Just to wait for you to know that

I want you in everything
In everything
In anything I do
When will you make my phone ring
And tell me I can't give you anything
Anything at all now"

Deacon Blue ~ When will you make my phone ring

You would wait a very long time for this particular phone to ring!

A lovely lunch at my sister Janet with her husband Mark (Incredibish) and then a walk in the Autumn afternoon sunshine.  I spotted this piece of dereliction sitting in the middle of a local farmer's field.  I think you would be seriously disturbed if the phone started to ring as you walked past on the nearby footpath ...

That's two derelict entries this week, which is perhaps overkill but it makes up in part for missing out last week, and it was such an unusual thing to see that I couldn't resist using it for my blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.