Three for the price of one

Went out for a bag of sugar - yes, making more bramble syrup - and when the sun came out as I came out of Tesco I decided to drive up Crannag A' Mhinisteir, a road on the SW side of the harbour, to see what I could spot from a slightly different viewpoint.

Looking down on the pier of the Northern Lighthouse Board I got a good view of their maintenance boat, the 'NLV Pharos', which came into service in 2007. She was built in Gdansk, Poland.

Tucked down at the bottom in her own little dock sat the Oban lifeboat, RNLB "Mora Edith MacDonald", built by Green Marine and launched in 1997. To date four babies have been born aboard!

As I watched, a CalMac ferry hove into view down the Sound of Mull. She proved to be the 'Clansman', inward bound from the islands of Tiree and Coll. This is the 5th boat named 'Clansman' - she was built in Appledore in Devon, and was launched in 1998.

I had to wait quite a while until 'Clansman'  sailed into the harbour, and just as she joined the others in a nice triangle the sun went in, but you can't win 'em all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.