fototherapy

By GirlKojak

You know you're in Edinburgh when ...

(Back-blipped on 15 August 2012)

... iron men grow from pavements and rivers.

What art offers is space - a certain breathing room for the spirit.
(John Updike)


I love public art - I'm sure that it is good for a community to know that they are important enough to receive it. I'm also sure that such works improve the environment, and that the environment impacts on the lives of those passing through. I hope that it makes people stop and think, too.

This particular sculpture is one of several in Edinburgh by the very wonderful Antony Gormley and is just outside the entrance to the Gallery of Modern Art. Of course, living in the North East I'm a big fan of Gormley's work, and I have a deep affection for our Angel of the North. Unfortunately the picture isn't great - I think I should have got down even lower to avoid the big expanse of empty tarmac. I've added a bit of a textural effect in an attempt to make it more interesting - you can tell me whether it works or not!

We went in to the gallery. We didn't have tmuch time before closing so didn't pay to see the Picasso exhibition, but there was enough to keep us busy for about 45 mins in there. We also had a lazy time sitting soaking up the sun on Charles Jencks' Landform, which has been beautifully captured by ArtyFi.

I'd never heard of this song before, but it seemed perfect!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.