Breakwater

Yesterday evening Friend asked me to visit her today as she was to have a blood transfusion. She  had sent a facebook message to say no visitors as didn't feel up to it but did want my company. That was really good to hear but I so wasn't in the place for visiting her - a blood transfusion was what my mum had a week before she died so it was all getting to me. However late in the eve I told myself to get it together and go - so go I did! 
The day didn't start too good as I stubbed my little toe - so I hobbled around the allotment in my Muck wellington boots until I had to make a dash home as my stomach got upset! I tried a pair of shoes on when leaving for the hospice, but as they hurt as did my sandals, I had to go out in thong sandals - not the best footwear for a  cold day! 
Friend  had asked me to arrive around 2 as that was when her daughter was leaving her - so I went on past the hospice as I knew the sea was just below and wanted to explore the views. This was the view of the Plymouth breakwater with the fort on the horizon to the left and just behind the shorter grasses right of centre you may be able to make out the lighthouse and a tanker!  
Friends daughter was still there when I arrived so I grabbed myself a toasted cheese and tomato sandwich from the cafe. Unfortunately friends bowels kicked off so curtains drawn as she performed and then open again. As I have little sense of smell with the cold still hanging on and not being bothered by bodily functions - I just kept on eating as this process was repeated again and again! Daughter left when she seemed settled. 
Well, she was not settled and we performed the routine of curtains  closing and opening, friend helped off the bed and onto it, Pj's and pad down and up, Friend down and up many, many times over the next hour and a half! At one point I knocked her glasses off, at another as she was bent over the bed talking to a nurse, I cleaned her bum, only not as gently as needed so she yelped, then she knocked her blood line and the machine stopped! At this point I just couldn't stop laughing and told the nurses just to give her more meds! Thankfully the second lot of meds worked and she settled and then began to get sleepy so I left just before rush hour traffic started.Ha! 3 car pile up on my side of the road just after leaving the tunnel and over the border into Cornwall! Home by 7 after stocking up in Waitrose on 3 types of eclairs - mocha, lemon, and a raspberry and rose! I reckoned I deserved them! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.