Fennel

Our fennel was one of the few things to survive the cull in the garden a few weeks ago. I just love it.
Just was well as it's pushing five feet tall and taking over our vegetable patch - which this year has nothing in it except fennel (a hardy perennial!!) We never got round to planting anything this year!
We eat a lot of fennel having recently discovered Jamie Oliver's delicious fennel and raddish salad - slice in a food processor, add salt, leave for a bit, add olive oil and lemon juice. Yummy!! Amazing with fish.
I had to laugh this morning. We got our inspection report back from the letting agent after they came round last Thursday. The house is fine - again strategic placing of toys on the floor over chocolate mousse and weetabix splodges in the carpet. I say again, who on earth puts carpet in the dining room?!!! But they were "disappointed" to see how overgrown the garden is.
Goodness me, if they'd come a couple of weeks before we'd have been out on our ear!!!! It looks like a bowling green now compared to then!
So that was money well spent then if they still think it's a state.....
We've had such a dull day today. The Little Misses are going stir crazy as we've been in all day. Yesterday, for the third time in my life, I had a visual migraine which is terrifying. It wasn't helped by the fact I was driving them home from school when it came on. Awful.
Anyway, I'm just about to give them their dinner - sausages and roast parsnips which they will eat til the cows come home - and hope they settle down a bit.
I'm not hopeful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.