Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Yee Haw!

The Annual Artisan Festival was being held today and tomorrow at the main Social Center in town.  There were exhibits outside, in the lobby and in the ballroom.  I stopped to chat with a few of the men who specialized in wood...furniture, carving and creations like this covered wagon and stage coach.  When I told him how impressive they were he asked me to spread the word so it would sell.  Those cowboy and Indian carvings are made out of bronze. He was very funny.

Sometimes at these artisan/craft festivals people get very paranoid when they see me taking pictures.  One man put his hand up in front of my camera and asked me why I was shooting his stuff.  I knew from experience that he was afraid I was another crafter trying to steal his "ideas."  (For Pete's sake, they were just wooden bowls!)  So I lied.  I told him I was with the newspaper...then thinking quickly realized I couldn't say it was the local rag, so I told him I was with the Arizona Daily Star (Tucson's paper). 

I had to do that a couple of times.  I don't feel guilty about it anymore.  It's easier than trying to explain I'm just an amateur out for a day of taking photos because it's fun.  They don't buy that.  Of course, if anyone ever asks for credentials, I'm toast.

There are a couple of extras taken from the Festival, too.  Lots of feathers and pottery (very southwestern) though I don't know how the giraffes fit in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.