Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Cake

Today has been spent doing very little except cook lunch, although I also made a small ‘Christmas’ cake. I have said over the past two years, while I have not had a proper kitchen and a very old oven that I would not make any more Christmas cakes. Today I made a very small one, using a Tesco, pre-weighed gluten-free cake mix; not something I would normally use. It needed only some butter, orange zest and juice as well as two eggs; I also added some glacé cherries. The mixture felt very dry and it took much longer to cook than it should have done. The finished small cake has an uneven finish, but that does not matter as this one is for eating now. If I make another one I shall adapt the mix a little to add a little more liquid and probably some alcohol instead of orange juice. The top was a little uneven, so this is the bottom of the cake after the paper had been removed from it. My daughter also made one; hers is on Facebook, but looks lighter than mine.
 
Many thanks to everyone for the comments, stars and hearts on my 2000th blip birthday yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.