Fauvist oak

After dropping Ben in Stamford I managed to fit in a walk round Castor Hanglands before the rain arrived shortly after midday. It's one of my favourite nature reserves because hardly anyone visits in the week, so you can wander around in perfect isolation, Though that may well change as there are plans to build a major new settlement quite close to its boundaries. 

The reserve is a mix of woodland, scrub, ponds, fen meadow and limestone grassland, which has to be grazed in the autumn and winter. My extra shows one of a small herd of Belted Galloway cattle who are busy munching up all the excess growth. Elsewhere on the site I came across a group of mixed ponies. The growing season has been so long, that there is an awful lot of grass to be eaten!

I don't often join in with the Abstract Thursday challenge, but Ingeborg's idea of a Fauvist theme appealed, so this is my effort of an abstract ancient oak, which I certainly had fun creating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.