Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

On Landscape Conference

Today I was at the Rheged Centre near Penrith for the second On Landscope conference. The first was 2 years ago.

It was a brilliant day. The main speakers were Mark Littlejohn, Len Metcalf, John Blakemore and Bruce Percy. What a line-up! Every presentation was excellent. It so good to hear people talking thoughtfully about their work and how they approach their photography. Bruce showed images from different visits to the same places to show how his work has developed. John Blakemore had images from 1955 onwards! I was on a course with Mark in September (Ullswater) and it was great to see more of his work and hear him speak. I had not heard of Len Metacalf from Australia. He talked a lot about simplicity and the negative space in images. Quite mind blowing.

One of the innovations at this conference was to ask delegates to submit one image each to be printed and put up as a communcal exhibition. In my blip you see Alan Hayward of Hexham in front of his image. (I have to apologise that I did not use a large enough depth of field for you to see Alan's lovely image of rowan berries on a stream.) I was delighted with the way my own image had been printed - even more delighted when I found it and heard 2 people standing in front of it and saying complimentary things!

Out of all the delegates we managed to have 4 of us from Hexham Photo Group sitting together in the lecture theatre! 

Now I just want to get going with more landscape work.

At the end of the day, my car was frozen over and it took ages to defrost it. I then gave Janet a lift to her hotel in Penrith. We met at the Lacock course earlier in the week.

Dreams of the future? Maybe Bolivia!!!

Mum is pleased to see me home. Margret is out of hospital but has no memory of yesterday afternoon at all. She feels fine now which is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.