Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The power of social media

Late last night I received a message on Facebook from my old Cobweb orchestra friend, Richard. He had seen my blip where I mentioned that I would be in Penrith today and wondered if I would like to call to see his wife Joan. They live about 20 miles from Penrith. Another old friend to meet on my travels. We had a good chinwag. Joan has had way more than her share of complicated medical problems and is quite restricted in what she is able to do. She did produce homemade cake and scones for me. I was delighted to drinke tea and enjoy the fare.

There were times today when I thought I would not reach Penrith this side of Christmas. Why oh why do they put multiple roadworks on one motorway? I tried to miss the worst section by leaving the M6 and travelling via Stoke and Congleton, to pick up the M6 again north of the trouble. Guess what? The A34 to Congleton was closed, but I didn't know that until I was on the road from Stoke.

The early morning sunshine and dry conditions gave way to darkness, rain and sleet later on. Some of the driving was atrocious as people became increasingly impatient.

To add to the challenges of the day was all the depressing news from the US and from Turkey. Who could dream up a law where a girl who has been raped is then given in marriage to the attacker?

I am finally in Penrith and glad to be in my room at the Premier Inn. Everything here is predictable and calm. The young waiter in the restaurant chatted and then showed my photos he has taken on his iPhone. He was so proud of them and keen to learn more. I showed him a few on my iPad.

In other news, Mum had a much better day, but Margret (next door) had a fall in Hexham and gashed her leg. She has been taken to hospital in Cramlington for tests. She is still not well from the Egyptian gut rot and has not had any treatment for that yet.

I will be home tomorrow evening.

PS Did you notice the Herdy mug?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.