Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Indomitable and undeterred!

I travelled to Bath today to visit my old GP partner, Hyla. We worked together in general practice in Cleveland and it is fair to say that he is responsible for a few things in my life. It is very unlikely I would have become a psychiatrist without knowing him; he made the transition from analyst to GP in his 50s and fostered my interest. He also encouraged me to play music and to have a cat. (In truth he foisted my first cat upon me, when I was very uncertain that this was a good idea.) His wife Joan, who died recently, was a great friend and supporter too.

We have not seen each other for a few years. Today was an opportunity to catch up, which included joining his daily walk. Hyla is very unsteady on his feet and uses 2 sticks, but still walks over very uneven ground. The bright sunny weather of the morning disappeared as we arrived at the start of the walk to be replaced by high winds and heavy rain. Hyla had forgotten a hat so wore my new one, not minding the crocheted flower on the front!  I hope it has not shrunk in the rain.......

These beech woods were glorious. The muddy fields beyond, less so.

We picked up Helen - who is has been part of Hyla's family for a very long time - and had a splendid lunch at a local pub. Bath is far too crowded with cars and narrow lanes for my liking  and with houses on every tiny plot of land.

It was a very special day.

Tomorrow I drive north to Penrith and hope the M6 is less busy than on Monday, some hope.

Mum has had a wobby day and will be glad to see me home again on Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.