Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Red-naped Sapsucker

My first sapsucker!  Checking off another box in my books. 

  When I arrived at the Santa Rita Lodge in Madera Canyon only one person was present.  He had his tripod set up in a spot in which I had never seen anyone before.  I asked him if he had been spotting anything to the side where he was pointed. Only some sapsuckers, he told me. I joined him in the hunt for them.  I didn't get many in focus because they were hidden among the tree branches, but this one wasn't too bad.

He was a really nice guy. From Colorado, he had rented one of the cabins for the weekend.  Madera Canyon is one of the top three birding areas in the country.  This guy was also the first person I have run into who had the same camera as me.  He was very helpful and gave me a lot of tips, especially with focusing, which has challenged me the most.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.