Acko's Salad

CCN and I are very blessed to have two VERY talented chefs in the family.  Sid and Acko are both brilliant in their own right and one of the joys of visiting them in Melbourne is the fact that are constantly serving us up delicious food.  The other day we called in for lunch and Acko had made this wonderful salad.  I decided I would try it today for lunch and it was so good I wanted to share it with you.  

Ingredients
The quantities are really up to you but this is what I used today

2 grated carrots
1/2 cup of tricolour quinoa
(I added 1 cup of water brought to the boil and then simmered until the quinoa had absorbed all of the water - did this last night!!)
3 baby cucumbers sliced
1/2 red capsicum chopped finely
400g can of white beans (large)
Coriander
1 cup of chopped roasted chicken breast (optional)

Mix all of the above and serve portions - then dress with the following:

Olive Oil
Lemon juice or lime juice
Cumin Powder
Sweet Paprika
Little Soy Sauce
Balsamic Vinegar.

Acko's advice on the dressing - quantities to your taste so you'll have to wing the dressing.  A Thai style pre-made dressing works as well - that's what I used today.  

All that's left to say is YUMMO - and it's very low in calories!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.