An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Interior Design...

NHS style :-))

Alan had a much better day today therefore I did too.  

I was up SO early this morning, the heating hadn't even come on.  Worth it though as I was ready when the builders arrived, and most importantly, when the van containing my new kitchen arrived.

Fortunately the big boss was here today so I was able to tell him about Alan being in hospital and ask him to make sure the guys locked up after themselves as I wouldn't be back before they were due to leave.  I then sent a text to David confirming that Thomas (the tiler) would lick the front door as he left.   Honestly, my texting gaffs are getting worse.  It made me laugh though :D

After hanging around for a while just incase there were any issues with the kitchen, Ashleigh and I headed off and got to the hospital just after midday to be greeted by a much cheerier Alan and his much cheerier dad (who got a bed to sleep on last night so had actually managed to get a sleep.)  

Due to Alan's suspected chest infection his colonoscopy has been postponed till tomorrow.  He was full of smiles when we arrived and much more animated.  He still had the oxygen mask on and I am amazed at how well he is tolerating it.  He must feel the benefit otherwise it would be pulled right off.

Ashleigh gave him a bit of a pampering session with the head massager and was going to give him a manicure but with one thing and another ran out of time.

Ed arrived at 7.30pm just as the nurse was removing Alan's oxygen mask and allowing him some freedom.  David and I took the chance to head home to grab some dinner and let David get his first shower and change of cloths since Saturday.

Of course the first thing we did was head through to the kitchen to check out how that was progressing (and to hopefully find it was painted the correct colour.  It is.  Phew!)

We were both amazed at how much the fitter had managed to get done today.  The long wall that has floor to ceiling cupboards and my precious bookshelves has mostly been build, so we got a good feel for how the finished kitchen will look and we are loving it!  What a relief.

Part of the island unit had been unpacked so we were able to see the colour of that too and I am over the moon with it.  It's exactly what I hoped for.  The testers were worth it :-))

After a quick bite to eat, a shower and a mad dash round the house gathering provisions for himself and Alan, poor David was off again to spend his third night in hospital with Alan.  He texted me when he got there to let me know that Alan has been taken off the oxygen completely, him and Ed had been for two long wanders around the place, and that Alan wants the room to himself tonight and thinks David should sleep in the corridor outside.  Charming!

I am home alone again, still missing my boys, but tonight the house feels less lonely.

My boy is smiling again and so am I.

(Well I was till I realised it's only 34 days to Christmas and I haven't even given it a thought as yet!!!) 

PS Thank you so much for all your lovely comments.  It warms my heart to know you're thinking of us xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.