An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Look of Love...

Backblip

Up at the crack of dawn.  The new heating is now fully working but D forgot to change the time clock to get the heating to come on at 5.30am (it's set for 7am) so when I got up at 6am, the place was freezing.  I had the fastest shower ever!

Got to the hospital at 1.30pm.  David went to the cafe and got us Brie and cranberry paninis.  Every cloud and all that ;-))

The Consultant spoke to David earlier this morning and explained they hoped to take Alan to theatre this afternoon, not for a colonoscopy but for a procedure called a flexible sigmoidoscopy and for that he just needed to be sedated, rather than a full general anaesthetic.  They've also stopped his antibiotics as he doesn't have a chest infection after all.  All going well he should get home on Thursday.

By 3.30pm there was no sign of him being taken to theatre and as he was fasting and by now desperate for a drink of milk, David checked with the nurse in charge, who on checking with the Doc, was told Alan wouldn't be taken today after all.  Too many emergencies apparently.  They now hope to do him tomorrow instead.  Disappointed and annoyed.  Why can't someone tell the ward as soon as they know a procedure has been postponed.  Poor boy was sitting all that time desperate for a drink/tummy milk and he could have had it much earlier.  It makes me wonder of D hadn't gone to ask what was happening, how long it would have taken for us to be told the procedure wasn't going ahead.

David headed home at 5pm and Alan and I settled down for a wee snooze and afterwards watched Junior Bakeoff.  Wow, those young contestants are amazing.  They made pretzels with a sour cream and chive dip, eclairs with lot of amazing flavourings.  I could just about boil at kettle at their age!

David sent me photos of the kitchen progress.  It's looking great!  Hoping we can start moving stuff into the cupboards this weekend.

Alan was all settled got into bed just before I left for the night.  I tried to get a good night kiss from him but he only had eyes for Tess :-))

Funny moment of the day.   Ashleigh took Alan for a wander down to the foyer this afternoon leaving David and I in Alan's room.  David had just brought us coffee and as he leant over and put mine beside me, he gave me a kiss.  Just at this very moment a nurse came into the room (they always knock if the door is closed but this time she didn't) and I gave David such a shove, he almost hit the wall opposite!  The look on his face was priceless but it was a complete knee jerk reaction on my part.  I felt like a school girl getting caught having a snog behind the bike sheds (not that I ever did :-)   We both blushed scarlet, the nurse, bless her, carried on as if she hadn't seen David heading backwards at warp speed, and as soon as she left the room we laughed ourselves hoarse.  A very welcome moment of mirth!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.