Blue Sky Day

An adventurous day for me!

I have a bit of an obsession (maybe even an RPS 'A' panel) at the moment with the distorted reflections in the stainless steel cladding that is the inspired architectural development of Birmingham's New Street Station. So I set off this morning to head north again (always a bit of a concern!) for a blipmeet and lunch with Hildasrose. We've come a long way since our very first meeting at Whipsnade Zoo on a cold and damp November day when, within a very short time of meeting, we had decided we would be 'trouble' together in the same staff room! That's now almost two years ago!

Today I caught the bus (!!!) from opposite my house to Leighton Buzzard and managed to get off at the right place for a short walk to the station and the train to take me to the very same Birmingham New Street station!  I met Rose outside the superb and huge John Lewis, where we had a quick catch-up over coffee and cake, before heading out to feed my obsession with distorted reflections.  I have now done a bit of research into the architecture of this development and it's really interesting.  If you have a few minutes to digress, do take a look. You can now begin to feel my obsession!

I had a wonderful hour or so in the company of a wonderful friend with wonderful photographic opportunities - I loved every second!  So exciting!  It was also a blue sky day and so achieving exactly what the architect had in mind to show the blue skies above Birmingham rather than the black skies of its industrial past.

So, after the photography, we decided lunch was necessary and Rose found a superb back street place where we ate divine burgers accompanied by loud music - just fantastic!  We then rushed along to attempt some sunset reflections but the light was too low and the buildings too high!

We even tried a bit of shopping before parting to go our separate ways - not successful for me though.  My train journey home was good although I had to change at Milton Keynes Central and it was not clear to which platform I needed to head for my connection. I made it though, and also the return walk to the necessary bus stop for the 150 back to Bierton.

I have found it very difficult to select a blip - I may have to add in a couple of extras!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.