Hope The Fur Won't Fly

My mother-in-law, born in 1902, trained and worked as a furrier before she took over running the family greengrocery shop in London. She was a wonderful seamstress who made all her own clothes and those of her family. She created exotic confections for my sister-in-law to wear for dance school productions and elegant evening wear for herself. When my children were young I used to take her to see the latest children's fashions in John Lewis and she would make clever copies of them for my son and daughter.

My granddaughter has asked to see her great grandmother's furs. MrQ retrieved them from the loft this morning. None have labels or maker's names. I think she might have made at least some of the items herself. 

I'm sorry as I know that many of you will find my pic distasteful. When I was a child a fur coat was considered to be the height of fashion and luxury. I remember learning about the origin of Persian lamb, my mother had a coat trimmed with it, and feeling very uneasy. Times have changed. Don't judge my MiL, she was a wonderful woman who would do anything for her family.    

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.