Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Sunset

As you'll know, I'm not one much for taking sunsets (too lazy), but today I challenged myself to climb St Catherine's Hill and watch the sun going down.  It's the only blip of its kind in my journal this year.

St Catherine's Hill, on the edge of Winchester, is an Iron Age hillfort.  Later there was a chapel up here dedicated to St Catherine but now its ruins are buried beneath the grass.  In that respect it lasted less well that the ramparts.  The sun is setting beyond a further ridge.  The foreground berries are hawthorn.

As I was walking home a roe deer trotted out of a yard where the College stacks grass-cuttings, crossed the road 10 metres in front of me, forded the roadside stream and began grazing the further bank.  We eyeballed each other but she knew she was safe and I knew it was too dark to get any blips.  Pity!

Enjoy your evening, lovely people  xx

PS:  The lovely comments, hearts and stars for Mr Nickleby continue.  I have been overwhelmed by your generosity and am trying very hard to thank those kind people whose reactions are still coming in.  It's hard to keep track though, so if there are any misses I apologise.  All are deeply appreciated.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.