Leek

Leeks and leak in my case.

The leeks are destined for soup and hopefully the leak if fixed. The roofing guys came and they think they found the problem. Earthquake related but they suggested an improved way of doing the flashing.

Then the fun and games begun with the outrageous Earthquake and War Commission (EQC). The roofing guys agreed I have damp ceiling and walls in my bedroom. But that is the job for a chippy (carpenter/builder).

Fair enough. So I called the Fletchers emergency hub. No, I'd have to call EQC and get it approved. How come, I explained to them I had a leaking roof because it was dripping from my bedroom ceiling and side wall. Surely that is enough?

EQC only told Fletchers a roofer was needed and I'd have to log another job. Feeling slightly frustrated I phoned EQC. I spoke to someone with an IQ possibly approaching double figures (on a good day, with the wind behind them going downhill).

After we ascertained my age and how many people live in my home, she asked me how I knew the ceiling and walls were wet. *sigh* Then she asked me what the problem is with damp walls and ceiling.

Where do they find these people? I can't believe I had to justify having inside damage from a leaking roof and explain yes, I do have a problem with having wet gib board in my ceiling and wall.

How come when I contacted my insurance company 3 years ago and explained I'd flooded the laundry tub they knew exactly what water does and what is required.

Nearly 2 years after the first major earthquake EQC continues to blunder along on the most basic level of communication and understanding.

I await the next chapter.

Rant over ;-)

Other than that I've had a quiet day at home sleeping and resting before I went off to untwist whatever happened in my hip. It's helped.

Better go. The hunter has called to say he's going to make a house call. Bless him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.