Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Dickensian

This is a corner of Winchester I'm very fond of, behind the cathedral and away from the main drag.  Underneath the arch of the City's old Kingsgate (the one with a small church on top) there is this minute bow-windowed shop selling cards and engravings, etc, of Winchester.  This is the pavement arch, but cars can no longer go through the road arch either so it's pretty traffic-free round here.  It's more like a village than part of a city but still always makes me think of Dickens.  Especially now with the strings of lights and a large Christmas tree standing on the pavement just beyond.

I did enjoy today, despite the cold and the grey (the reason I went for a late shot, which allowed me to try out my new tripod - ha!).  This morning I spent a disgraceful 2 and a half hours yakking over coffee with a friend - lovely - and this evening, just as I was coming home from bagging this blip I bumped into Redflash, camera out, doing much the same.  Friends are wonderful!

Have a good evening - weekend tomorrow!  Wheeee!  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.