A Gander At Goosanders

My mate suggested a swim today but I thought it would be too busy in the pool, we usually swim in the week. We went for a lovely walk in the beautiful sunshine at Fishers Green instead. He had heard there were goosanders on Ashley pit. We strode quickly and purposefully across the park so that there would still be some decent light left when we arrived. 

The lake was partially frozen but we were pleased to see three goosanders in the distance in good light. I would not normally post pics of birds this far away but these diving ducks are quite special. They belong to the sawbill group. They have serrated cutting edges on their bills, an adaptation for catching and holding fish, their main food. The sharp hooks on the end of their beaks can just be seen in my pic. The females are known as redheads for obvious reasons.

This is only the second time that I have photographed a goosander. The first was dead. :(  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.