Missycat

By Missycat

MonoMonday 150 Lost

Today I went to the Royal Academy with a dear friend to see the Abstract Expressionism exhibition showing works by the artists named in my blip.

You can't of course take photos in the exhibition itself so a shot of the courtyard had to do instead.  The statue in front of the poster is of  Sir Joshua Reynolds, the first president of the Royal Academy of Arts.  As the painter of realistic portraits and landscapes, I do not know what he would have made of the works exhibited today.  For myself, although some works did appeal (Arshile Gorky for example),  a number  were  lost on me and my friend (eg Rothko Black series) and we retreated to Costa for coffee and a catch up
Many thanks to FlyingPRgal for hosting this month:  I've just about managed to create a tenuous link with your theme I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.