The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Pileated Woodpecker and Crow

I got a surprise gift today from one of my oldest and dearest friends. Ginny and I became roommates in the first part of our freshman year at Pomona College. Both of our original roommates wanted to share a room so Ginny and I got moved together. It was the best thing that could have happened. We had so much in common and have been life long friends since. We roomed together up to our senior year where we had single rooms across the hall. Ginny is a fantastic musician and we shared our love of music and many other things. She is my friend on Facebook where my blips go so she knows most of what is going on in my life.

So a package arrived... it was a Himalayan salt lamp. I had never heard of one and it took me awhile to figure out it was a gift from Ginny. These lamps are supposed to be soothing and to make the air more conducive to peace and good health. When I realized who it was from I called Ginny and thanked her. To me because of what the lamp does, it felt like a "bucket of love" to receive it and that's what I told Ginny. We had our usual wonderful conversation though a bit shorter than usual. As we talked I looked out of the kitchen window and noticed that the Pileated Woodpecker was back. So I said to Ginny, "I'm going to set down the phone for a second" and I picked up my camera. And as we began to talk again I snapped some photos from the kitchen window. I saw that a crow had flown up behind the suet feeder and wondered what I'd gotten. This is it. What a joy to see those crow wings behind the woodpecker.

Today I put up the Christmas decorations. And I went to my therapist's and had a great session with her. Steve came over for a couple of games, dinner and some TV. We've been watching a series called "Lilies" about a family of Irish girls and their father. It's sweet and funny and we love it. All of us have times though when we cannot understand a word they are saying. The accent is thick and the words fly by. Never mind. We still love the show. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.