Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Where did it go?

I was sitting quietly enjoying my tea when I caught motion in the yard near the patio.  What first appeared to be a couple of wild turkeys turned out to be 24, a mixed group of males, females and some hatch-year "poults".  What a delight it was to watch them.  I snapped some photos through the window - they are incredibly skittish and would have run into the woods had I attempted to sneak onto the deck.  Then, once they'd moved back to the edge of the woods, scratching around in the leaves, I did creep onto the deck for some shots.  This one isn't all that good technically, but I thought it was kind of funny.  This is a tom (male) turkey and if you look closely, you may be able to see his long "beard".  Another shot in Extra (through the window) which shows the beard better.

Thanks for all the good thoughts yesterday.  There were no further nose bleeds last night, thankfully, and things are quiet so far today.  She is out with one of her caregivers right now, taking a balance class at the senior center, which will keep her distracted.  I feel very good about the way we all navigated through the day yesterday, and I'm sure it won't be the last time we have to do something like this.  Good to have a trial run with something that wasn't life-threatening.  

I've succumbed to the cold today.  I hauled myself into the shower, thinking I'd get dressed and get out for a bit, but I crawled right back into a fresh pair of flannel 'jammies and planted myself on the sofa, near the fire.  Tea, honey, lemon, a good book, cat in the lap and maybe a snooze. That's about all I've got the energy for today.  I think I just need a day to catch up on sleep and let my body reset.  It's been a difficult few weeks.

Cheers, and happy Friday.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.