Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Windblown...

Yep, another downy woodpecker.  As you can see from his ruffled feathers, it is windy out today and the temps are a frigid 30-something (F) so this photographer and her runny nose weren't anxious to spend a lot of time outside.  The downy woodpeckers who frequent our garden are not at all afraid of people so this shot was taken from about 6 feet at 420mm meaning that I couldn't even get all six inches of the bird in the frame.  Decided to crop it for a head shot and gave it a little tweak in LR to lighten it a bit.  Done.

The cold is still hanging on, but I think it's better today. I felt good enough to make a trip to a semi-local feed store with Hubs to pick up 50 pounds of cracked corn and 40 pounds of sunflower seeds along with a 12-pack of suet.  The wild turkeys were back this morning (all 24 of them) so I think they will appreciate some cracked corn scattered under the trees.  The sparrows and squirrels are also big fans of the cracked corn, so it won't go to waste.  After the feed store, we stopped at a diner to feed ourselves before returning home.

I've done a bit more Christmas decorating and tomorrow we'll go out and get a tree.  In spite of, or maybe because of, our recent loss, I think it is still important to observe the holiday.  Maybe I'm just craving something that feels like "normal."  

We may get a bit of snow tomorrow - kind of hoping we do as I love watching the activity at our feeders when it snows. Even today, there are more birds than usual - they always know when a change in the weather is coming.  I put out some fresh live mealworms for the titmice this morning - it's such fun to see them snatching their treats with little chirps of excitement.  Not so fun for the mealworms, I guess...but the titmice appear to be ecstatic.

Be well, people.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.