Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Memories

After a nice long chat with my parents, Hubs and I went to a local farm and bought our tree, a lovely 8 foot fir with an endearing baldish patch in the back.  Try as we might, we never get a perfect tree - which I think is kind of apropos in many ways.

Most of the ornaments on our tree have some significance, and this one is no exception.  This was purchased on a trip to Sanibel Island not too long after hubs and I started dating.  It was a happy weekend and one with some special memories, among them...

...my discovery that Hubs had an "aversion" to lizards.  As we were settling into our little bungalow, a lizard dashed across the floor, which sent Hubs dashing for the bathroom er, no, actually leaping onto the bed.  Not wanting to spend the night with the reptile, I bravely went after it and managed to grab it by its tail.  Some of you can already guess what happened next.  Yep, I was left holding the still-wriggling tale while the lizard ran to safety.  I am embarrassed to admit that screaming was involved...and it wasn't the lizard.

So every year when I unwrap this ornament from its tissue, I smile.  

My cold did a double-back today and I awoke feeling quite a bit worse.  Nothing time won't fix.  And a nap today didn't hurt either.  Some spicy Thai curry tonight  and probably early to bed.  But first, I will unwrap a few more treasured memories...

Xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.