Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Downward-facing...Nuthatch

Another day where I suddenly found myself looking 3 PM in the eye without having taken a single photo.  Lucky for me, the Bistro was abuzz with birds and, after planting myself outside for 20 minutes or so, I had a couple of shots that fit the bill. 

Today's selection is a White-breasted Nuthatch, a very common year-round bird at our feeders. If you are familiar with just about any species of nuthatch, you'll be familiar with this pose as they seem to spend a great deal of time pointed downward. This particular 'hatch is a male, distinguished by a slightly darker crown than the females of this species.  I decided to leave quite a bit of negative space in the image rather than a tight crop - just felt that it worked better.  

More snow in the forecast tomorrow, and I am hoping for some big, fat, photogenic flakes.  Maybe I can actually manage to get a half-decent macro of a flake...

Don't forget to tag your Tiny Tuesday entries #TT133 so I can find them.  

Two weeks until...you know...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.