Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Soaring...

Not a backyard bird today, although that would have been an easy choice.  But I'm feeling a bit nostalgic for Florida right now which got me to thinking about gulls and how much fun they are to watch.  Since I don't live anywhere near a beach, I decided to do the next best thing ...and visit a nearby retail parking lot where loads of ring-billed gulls hang out every winter.  Hubs was with me, and pulled the car around so that the light was behind me, shut off the engine to minimizevibration, and I fired off 50 or so shots...from the passenger seat of the car.  Really, a very lazy blip when you think about it.  I worked this over in LR to brighten it up (hard shooting white birds on an overcast day).  

I learned some sad news today ... that friend and fellow blipper JDO lost her beloved terrier, Roley.  My heart goes out to her; knowing how incredibly painful it is to make end-of-life decisions for our furry family members.  

And on the flip side, I received a note from a fellow blipper and good friend who told me she had pledged several shares in  Blipfuture in my name.  An incredibly thoughtful thing to do, since we in the US can't yet pledge. 

I'm feeling a bit emotionally ragged at the moment. So much disharmony in my extended family, so many people angry ... and I can't seem to do anything about it.  I wish I had a magic potion that could make everyone see that being angry doesn't fix anything.  But I guess if that potion existed, we could fix the world, couldn't we?

It's Friday - let's go enjoy the weekend.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.