Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Big Red

I guess I'm just a sucker for a red bird on a snowy day.  Although I had some technically better shots today, I kept coming back to this one.  The cardinals are in such perfect plumage at this time of year and when you put those vibrant colors against a snow background...well, there's really no choice, is there?

I have posted 3 other shots starting HERE on Flickr - all snowy birds.

The snow started late morning and fell steadily until mid-afternoon.  We probably got around 3 inches, not enough to really cause any problems although an overnight freeze will probably leave us with a slippery driveway in the morning.  Fire has been going all day, keeping the house toasty warm.  I've spent several hours outside, bundled up and with gear protected, taking loads of photos. 

I really wanted to get a good macro shot of a snowflake.  And I had the perfect subjects when I found a strand of spider web with snow flakes clinging to it.  But, I was disappointed with the results.  I really needed to put the camera on a tripod and then stack a bunch of images to get a nice, clean, well focused snowflake.  Lacking the patience today, I went back to a longer lens and birds.  

Thank you so very much for all the love on my hawk yesterday!  It was such a treat to see one in the yard and to have her stick around for as long as she did.  I was not-so-secretly hoping for an encor performance today - imagine her in the snow! - but it wasn't in the cards.  And since there was a chipmunk running all over the yard before the snow started, maybe it is just as well she didn't return.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.