Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello, #47

For the first time I'm aware of, a big Red-shouldered hawk was hunting at the edge of our woods today.  She (I am making a gender assumption based on size) sat perched right over our lawn for the longest time, just watching the forest floor.  Eventually she swooped down and scrabbled around in the leaves, but whatever she was after got away.  Interestingly, she completely ignored the hundred or so feeder birds that were all over the yard/woods.  Anyway, while it's not my sharpest shot, it's definitely today's pick, and is the 47th species of yard bird that I've blipped this year.

The feeders have been mobbed all day, as have the bird baths. The first snow of the year is expected tomorrow, and I am certain the birds can sense the barometric pressure changes, triggering a frenzy for food.  Thankfully, I have a 40 pound bag of sunflower seeds as well as nyjer, peanuts and corn.  No one will go hungry, that's for sure.  

As for the humans, we've got firewood and a big pot of split pea soup in the slow cooker.  And this blipper will start the day with freshly charged batteries, and high hopes for a good "bird in snow" shot!  

Yesterday, I sold my third stock photo - and made another 25 cents.  Weeee!  Another 20 sales and I can afford a trip to Starbucks.  

I'm off to the local farm to see if they have any fresh holly sprigs so I can decorate the Bistro a bit.  

Thanks, as always, for stopping by.

xo
Debbi

PS:  And if you can stand another Tufted Titmouse, click HERE for the daily dose of cute

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.