Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The Memorial Service

It was hot and humid again today - my mother hated the weather when it was too hot and humid so she would not have liked today. We had a quiet morning at our B&B and then at midday went over to get things ready for my mother's afternoon memorial service. My sister had done everything - she had bought the flowers and eats, organised the tea to be served and all I had to do was help her prepare some the snacks and carry the flowers to the room at the retirement home where the service was being held.

Archdeacon May performed an inspiring service, and my niece and nephew both did wonderful tributes to their granny, and my other niece read a passage from my mother's very much used and worn bible. My brother said a moving tribute to our mother and by now we were all in tears. After the service the tears stopped and we had tea and cake with all the guests. When the guests left the family went to mother's apartment at the retirement home and we had fun looking through all the old photos and albums, each taking photos we wanted in memory of our mother. There were some going back to my great grand parents in Germany.

The family then reconvened for supper at a local restaurant - there were eleven of us and it was a happy way to end a sad day, chatting and talking and enjoying seeing each other again.

Photos were difficult today, but this is a scene of the memorial candle that Rev May lit, next to the box of my mother's ashes with her crucifix on it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.