Feeling Festive

I've just finished putting up the Christmas tree and I must say it's got me singing carols and generally skipping about and getting in the mood for the big day.  I bought two sets of Christmas lights this morning  -   a bargain I thought, but shortly after switching them on one of the sets gave up the ghost and died;  they've been removed but even so I consider even if I only have one set (at £5.99) it's still been a bargain. 

One thing that I did today which has upset me is that I broke three Christmas ornaments which must have been nearly 90 years old; they haven't been on a tree since my mother used to put them up and when she died my sister took care of them and subsequently they came to me. They were very fragile being made of paper thin glass and the colour had almost disappeared;  they took the form of a Santa Claus, a tea pot and a police man.  My mother told me that when she was about six she and her brothers were given a half penny each and these decorations are what they bought. I can't bear to throw the pieces out yet, I will but I'll hang on to them for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.