Stubby

I forgot I took photos of Stubby this morning so I took some of the TV when we watched the Seahawks' game. What a disaster. But when I downloaded my photos there was Stubby, a much happier subject for photography. He's been around awhile, but he doesn't appear on the deck often. We first saw him right after his tail was amputated. We had no idea how or why, but there he was with just a tiny stub of a tail. And not to be gross but we could see red where the bone of the tail was. It had recently come off. Maybe he escaped a hawk or eagle. Maybe he fell. Maybe he was in a fight. In any case I was worried that he might not survive without his tail to balance him as he jumped from tree to tree. But here he is. His tail has grown in and is now quite cute. From behind he looks like a rabbit.

Today my brother and sister-in-law came up from Anacortes to watch the Seahawks' game with us. I made soup for lunch, New England style clam and salmon chowder. Nora brought chicken wings. We got stuffed mushrooms and a vegetarian pizza. It was a happy feast and we had a great time together in spite of the game. It was fun seeing the game on our big new TV even though Arvin, Helena and I are not really sport fans. But a party is a party and that is what matters. Fun with family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.