Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Quite a find - MonoMonday, subject 'Found'

Today was totally disgusting - very dark and raining incessantly.  The forecast said the rain would stop.  It didn't.  I got soaked.

At one point I dived into the Westgate Museum (the Museum, that is, which is not located at the Westgate.  No, I don't know either).  I like it in there.  In a small way it's got some rather lovely stuff.

At the back of the 'Roman' floor, rather hidden away, I found this wonderful wall-painting.  The lighting wasn't entirely ideal, but I love the brightness in the face so it had to be my blip.  It's on the wall, not in a case, and I could have touched it or thrown paint over it.  That's probably why I assumed it wasn't genuine, but it is.  

It was found at a Roman villa just outside Winchester,  Probably the one at Sparsholt.  The utterly charming Italian girl who works at the museum gave me the details of the curator so I could check.  Apart from the hairstyle she looked very like the lady in the painting.

So this is my entry for MonoMonday.  Many thanks to FlyingPRGal for hosting.

Enjoy your evening, all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.