A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

The Tops!

Many years ago we had a day in Berlin, viewing the dome of the Reichstag from a bus tour I decided that one day I would return to see it from the inside. Here we are, Norman Foster's magnificent glass dome. You might even spot us.

I booked kaffee und kuchen in the cafe at the dome (alongside) as the only tour available was in german. It was worth it as after having our coffee and cake (which I think was worth the 1€ supplement we had to pay to have the Schwarzwald torte!) we were able to spend as long as we wanted in the dome itself. We arrived in daylight and left after the sun had gone down.

The trip hasn't been entirely uneventful so far. Our lights blew in our airport hotel room last night. We had to be up at 3.30am and once at the airport I was held at security as I had triggered the alarm. Taken for a full body scan I was asked if I lived in the country; near a farm; walked in the country; to all of which I answered yes. Apparently I had triggered the alarm because of traces of nitrates (used in bomb making!) Walking ladies beware!

Once here we got the train into the city with no problems but the hotel '5 minutes away' proved elusive no matter how many people gave us directions with their phone apps. A taxi driver came to the rescue and it was literally just around the corner.

A pleasant walk down Unter den Linden for our first Gluhwein of the day before heading to the Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag. Plenty of time for our allotted 60 mins at 3.00pm. Then I suddenly remembered we had to have photographic identification for security purposes. I had put the passports in the hotel safe. We returned at break neck speed (Chris was faster than me and he reckons he can't walk fast) An hour there and back with five minutes to spare!
It was well worth it and I reckon we deserved that cake!
(Sorry not much time for comments for the next few days)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.