Behind the spit

Best viewed *larger*

Haha sorry about the title... but this little creature, measuring no more then 5-7mm is responsible for the spit you see covered on flowers & grass stalks in the UK & possibly further on in Europe... perhaps it's range is worldwide, I'm not sure! The spit in this country is called 'Cuckoo spit' as it appears the same time as the bird, the cuckoo returns for Spring & this tiny little frog lookalike with many legs makes all that wet frothy mess! They're very abundant this time of year to the naked eye, or the macro eye as I like I call it, as are the grasshoppers & the crickets! So keep your eyes peeled! :)

As for Larry - tonight, it is his son:

Come on Ollie!

I've been sorting out Rutland Bird Fair photos today, backblipping on both blips, so please look back on here for 16th August onwards... lots of nature celebs etc! Also I've charged & been experimenting with my *new* camera... all will be revealed tomorrow if it doesn't rain!!!! xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.